Dance with Sveta

Samyukta hastas

6. Ganesha ('Master of Ganas')

6. Ganesha  ('Master of Ganas')

Ganesha is represented by the hands in kapitta hasta, while the left hand faces downwards. Both the hands are held at the naval level.

Katakamukha                Shikhara

Abhinayadarpanam states:

"urogatabhyayam hastabhyam kapittyo vijnaratakarah"


Anjali: Viniyogas (Meanings)

Viniyogas (Meanings)

Shiva in Sanskrit means “Auspicious or Benevolent”. He is responsible for the dissolution of this world during pralaya of the New Moon period especially at the end of the Year.

He is fair in complexion, but having the blue neck and a third eye on the forehead. He has a long matted hair which are tied into a knot. A spring of water is seen flowing from his hair representing the river celestial Ganges or the Zodiac. A crescent moon is studded to his hair. He has four arms as he holds his weapon trident (Trishula) and a smal drum Damaru. The other two hands are in Abhaya and Varada mudra. A bull named Nandi is his vehicle. And Devi Parvati is his consort.

When Shiva is in Nataraja’s pose his upper right hand holds Damaru symbolizing sound of creation. The upper left hand holds fire of destruction. The second right hand shows protection from evil and ignorance and the second left hand points to the raised foot which is symbol for liberation.

Shiva Natraja

 cobra uncoils from his lower right forearm, the crescent moon and a skull are on his crest. He dances within an arch of flames.


PayPal donnation

How you can help

If you find these articles useful, please consider making a PayPal or credit card donation. It encourages us to continue the work and shows that it is actually useful for you.

Click the Donate button bellow


(you do not need to sign up for a PayPal account.)


Thank you
Natya-Shastra, Bharatanatyam, Flamenco, Sveta's Gallery, Alicante

View My Stats

1997-2016, Sveta Barkun